NCLE-AC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

NCLE-AC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • This article does not quote a pass percentage for NCLE-AC; any specific figure should be checked against the certifying body's published materials.
  • The exam is 125 multiple-choice questions in three hours, and some items may be unscored pretest questions.
  • Design, Fit and Dispense Standard and Specialty Lenses carries 30% of the exam, the heaviest single domain.
  • Recognizing and triaging acute complications alone is worth 6%, the largest single task in Domain 4.

What Pass-Rate Data Actually Exists for the NCLE-AC

Candidates searching for the pass rate of the National Contact Lens Examiners Advanced Certification (NCLE-AC) usually want one number to anchor their expectations. The honest answer is more useful than a made-up figure: the certifying bodies, the American Board of Opticianry and the National Contact Lens Examiners, publish a detailed exam handbook with the format, content outline, and policies, and that handbook is the authoritative source for how the exam works. This article deliberately does not state a pass percentage, because an unverified number would give you false confidence or false dread.

What the published materials do give you is the structure of the exam, and structure is where preparation succeeds or fails. Rather than chasing a headline statistic, this guide shows you what the exam rewards, who tends to take it, and where candidates are most likely to lose points. If you want the broader picture of difficulty, our guide to how hard the NCLE-AC exam is approaches the same question from the candidate-experience side.

Verify before you trust: The July 2026 ABO-NCLE Advanced Examination Handbook is the primary source for exam format and content weights. Any pass-rate figure that does not cite a source traceable to the certifying body should be treated as unverified, no matter how confidently it is stated.

Why a Single Pass Percentage Would Mislead You

Even when a pass rate is published for a credential, a single percentage hides more than it reveals. For the NCLE-AC, several features of the exam and its candidate pool make a lone number a poor predictor of your own result.

The candidate pool is self-selected

The NCLE-AC is an advanced credential. Eligibility ordinarily requires one complete three-year basic-certification renewal period, though a degree in Opticianry permits earlier advanced testing after passing Basic with proof of the degree. Adopted state licensing requirements may supersede these general rules. That means everyone in the pool already has contact-lens experience or formal education. A pass rate among experienced, pre-screened candidates tells you little about how well an unprepared person would do, and nothing about how a well-prepared one will.

Experience is uneven across the domains

A candidate can have years of routine soft-lens work and still be thin on scleral lenses, hybrids, piggyback systems, or irregular-cornea fitting. Pass outcomes depend on whether your actual daily practice maps onto the exam's specialty-heavy blueprint, not on your years in the field.

Format effects are real

Because the exam may include unscored pretest items among its 125 questions, you cannot tell which questions count. Time and focus have to be spread evenly. That is a strategy issue, not a statistic, and it applies regardless of any published rate. Our NCLE-AC passing score guide covers how scoring and cut points are discussed in the official materials.

The Format That Shapes Outcomes: 125 Questions in Three Hours

The handbook specifies 125 multiple-choice questions, potentially including unscored pretest items, with a three-hour time limit, delivered through Prometric with ProProctor. Doing the arithmetic on those published numbers: three hours across 125 questions leaves a little under a minute and a half per question on average. That is comfortable for recall questions and tight for clinical scenarios that require you to read a history, interpret a fit, and choose a next step.

Exam FeatureWhat the Handbook SpecifiesPreparation Implication
Question count125 multiple-choice, possibly including unscored pretest itemsTreat every question as scored; do not try to guess which are pretest
Time limitThree hoursPractice scenario-style items under timed conditions
DeliveryPrometric / ProProctorRehearse the testing setup and rules ahead of exam day
Content structureFive weighted domains totaling 100%Allocate study time by weight, not by comfort

The proctored delivery format also means logistics matter. For deadlines and scheduling windows, see our breakdown of NCLE-AC exam dates and testing windows.

Where the Points Live: Weighted Domains and Tasks

The NCLE-AC outline contains five weighted domains totaling 100%, spread across 21 weighted tasks. Because exam outcomes follow the weights, understanding the weights is the closest thing to "pass-rate data" a candidate can act on. These are NCLE-AC contact-lens specifications, distinct from the separate ABOAC optician outline.

DomainWeightCharacter of the Content
1. Prefit, Preparation and Evaluation25%History, assessment, expectations, and lens-option analysis, including complex conditions
2. Design, Fit and Dispense Standard and Specialty Lenses30%Lens selection, diagnostic fit evaluation, and specifying parameters
3. Patient Instruction and Delivery Procedures15%Verification, instruction, handling practice, and follow-up arrangements
4. Routine and Emergency Follow-up Visits25%Performance review, compliance, ocular integrity, and acute complications
5. Administrative Procedures5%Safety, professional and legal guidelines, and records

Domain 2: Design, Fit and Dispense Standard and Specialty Lenses (30%)

This is the heart of the exam and the place where a thin specialty background costs the most. Two tasks dominate it.

  • Diagnostic lens material/design selection (12%): includes piggyback, custom soft, hybrid, scleral, and irregular-cornea situations.
  • Diagnostic fit evaluation (13%): the single largest task on the entire exam.
  • Specifying and ordering standard, specialty, and custom lens parameters (5%).

Domain 1: Prefit, Preparation and Evaluation (25%)

Four tasks that test whether you can set up a fit correctly before any lens touches the eye.

  • Complex ocular history (6%)
  • Technical assessment and contact-lens options (7%)
  • Needs, expectations, and limitations (6%)
  • Analyzing and explaining lens options (6%)

Domain 4: Routine and Emergency Follow-up Visits (25%)

Follow-up is where clinical judgment is tested under pressure.

  • Recognizing and triaging acute complications (6%): the largest single task in this domain.
  • Complex lens fit and performance (4%), design changes and evaluation (4%), and ocular-integrity/fitting follow-up (4%)
  • Subjective response (3%) and compliance (3%)
  • New technology education (1%)

Domain 3 adds 15% (parameter verification 4%, written and verbal wear-and-care instruction for specialty lenses 4%, application and removal practice including scleral and hybrid lenses 4%, and arranging follow-up 3%), and Domain 5 adds 5% (safe environment 2%, professional/ethical/legal guidelines 2%, records 1%). For a deeper walkthrough of each area, read the complete guide to all five NCLE-AC content areas.

The weight math: Domains 1, 2, and 4 together account for 80% of the exam. A candidate who is strong on the paperwork and instruction domains but weak on specialty fitting and complication triage has left the bulk of the score exposed.

Who Sits for the Exam and Why It Matters for Pass Rates

The NCLE-AC is typically pursued by contact-lens professionals who already hold basic certification: opticians, technicians, and others working in optometry and ophthalmology practices, specialty contact-lens clinics, and optical retail settings that fit complex lenses. Because eligibility depends on a completed basic-certification renewal period or a qualifying Opticianry degree (with state licensing rules potentially taking precedence), the people sitting for the exam are not newcomers. Our NCLE-AC requirements guide lays out eligibility and prerequisites in more detail.

This has a practical consequence for how you interpret any pass-rate discussion. A pool of experienced candidates means the exam is calibrated to advanced practice, so the questions assume you can reason through multi-step clinical scenarios. Experience helps, but experience in one niche does not cover the whole blueprint. If you want to understand how employers value the credential, see NCLE-AC jobs and the ROI analysis of the certification.

Likely Failure Patterns, Domain by Domain

Without published candidate-level failure data, the most responsible approach is to reason from the blueprint itself. The patterns below are inferences from how the exam is weighted, not reported statistics.

Underestimating the specialty-lens share of Domain 2

Diagnostic lens selection and diagnostic fit evaluation together are worth 25% of the whole exam. They explicitly extend to piggyback, hybrid, scleral, and irregular-cornea situations. A candidate whose day-to-day work is mostly standard soft lenses faces the largest knowledge gap exactly where the exam concentrates its points. Practice interpreting fit assessments, not just memorizing lens categories.

Treating complication triage as a minor topic

At 6%, recognizing and triaging acute complications is the biggest single task in Domain 4. Candidates sometimes skim this because it feels like "common sense." The exam instead tests whether you can distinguish what needs urgent referral from what can be managed with a lens or care change. Know the signs and symptoms that signal a true emergency, and rehearse the decision, not only the vocabulary.

Neglecting instruction for specialty lenses

Domain 3 specifically calls out specialty-lens wear-and-care instruction and application and removal practice including scleral and hybrid lenses. These handling procedures differ meaningfully from standard soft-lens teaching. Candidates who have rarely taught a scleral insertion technique should review the process step by step.

Skipping administrative content

Domain 5 is only 5%, so it is tempting to ignore. But professional, ethical, and legal guidelines and record-keeping are among the most learnable points on the exam. A few hours of review can protect a handful of questions that are easy to get right.

Key Takeaway

Audit your own practice against the 21 tasks. Mark each one as routine, occasional, or rare in your daily work. Your "rare" list is where your preparation time should go, weighted by each task's percentage.

A Study Sequence Built Around the Weights

Generic study advice is plentiful; what matters here is sequencing that follows the NCLE-AC blueprint. This sample timeline front-loads the heaviest domains and leaves room for mixed review. It is a template to adapt, not a prescription, and our NCLE-AC study guide expands on how to structure preparation.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 2: Design, Fit and Dispense

  • Work through diagnostic fit evaluation first, since it is the largest single task
  • Cover piggyback, custom soft, hybrid, scleral, and irregular-cornea selection logic
  • Practice specifying and ordering lens parameters
Week 3

Domain 1: Prefit, Preparation and Evaluation

  • Complex ocular history and technical assessment
  • Patient needs, expectations, and limitations
  • Explaining lens options in plain terms
Week 4

Domain 4: Follow-up and Emergencies

  • Start with acute complication recognition and triage
  • Review design changes, complex fit performance, and ocular integrity
  • Compliance and subjective-response scenarios
Week 5

Domains 3 and 5, then Mixed Practice

  • Specialty-lens instruction, verification, and handling practice
  • Safety, legal and ethical guidelines, and records
  • Timed mixed sets to build pacing across 125 questions

For a quick pre-exam review of must-know facts, the NCLE-AC cheat sheet condenses the essentials. When you are ready to test yourself on scenario-style questions that mirror this format, try the NCLE-AC practice tests.

How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online

Because candidates want a number, forums and marketing pages often supply one. Use a short checklist before you let any statistic shape your plan.

  1. Check the credential name. The acronym "NCLE-AC" is shared by other well-known credentials. Make sure any figure refers to the National Contact Lens Examiners Advanced Certification from the American Board of Opticianry and the National Contact Lens Examiners, not a different program.
  2. Look for a source. A claim without a traceable citation to the certifying body or its handbook is an opinion.
  3. Check the date. The exam content outline is versioned. A figure tied to an older handbook may not reflect the current blueprint.
  4. Notice the denominator. First-time takers, retakers, and degree-track candidates are different groups. A rate that does not say who it covers is hard to interpret.
  5. Remember what a practice bank can and cannot do. Passing a practice bank builds readiness, but it does not confer a professional license, and it does not predict a certain score on the real exam.
Better questions than "what is the rate?": Ask which of the 21 tasks you could not teach to a colleague tomorrow, which specialty lens types you fit least often, and how you perform on timed scenario questions. Those answers predict your outcome far better than any aggregate percentage.

If budget is part of your planning, the NCLE-AC certification cost breakdown and the salary guide help you weigh the investment, and the overview of what NCLE-AC is is a good starting point if you are new to the credential.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the NCLE-AC pass rate?

This article does not cite a specific pass percentage because we will not publish an unverified figure. Consult the ABO-NCLE Advanced Examination Handbook and the certifying bodies' official communications for any published outcome data, and be cautious about unsourced numbers elsewhere.

How many questions are on the NCLE-AC exam?

The handbook specifies 125 multiple-choice questions, potentially including unscored pretest items, to be completed in three hours. The exam is delivered through Prometric with ProProctor.

Which domain matters most for passing?

Design, Fit and Dispense Standard and Specialty Lenses is the heaviest at 30%, and it contains the largest single task, diagnostic fit evaluation at 13%. Domains 1 and 4 each carry 25%, so together these three domains make up 80% of the exam.

Who is eligible to take the advanced exam?

Eligibility ordinarily requires one complete three-year basic-certification renewal period. A degree in Opticianry permits earlier advanced testing after passing Basic with proof of the degree. Adopted state licensing requirements may supersede the general rules, so confirm your own circumstances.

Does passing a practice test guarantee I will pass the real exam?

No. A practice bank is a readiness tool that helps you find weak areas and build pacing, but it does not predict your exact result and it does not confer a professional license. Use it alongside the official handbook outline.

Ready to pass your NCLE-AC exam?

Put this into practice with free NCLE-AC questions across every exam domain.